RatSWD @ RSSfeed


  • English
  • Deutsch

Members of the German Data Forum (RatSWD) in its Sixth Appointment Period (July 2017 - July 2020)

The German Data Forum (RatSWD) was established by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) in accordance with all federal government departments in 2004. It superseded the founding committee of the German Data Forum and continued its activities. The German Data Forum is an independent council of empirical researchers from universities, university-level institutions, and institutions of independent scientific research as well as representatives from important data producers in Germany. It consists of sixteen members. The members for the German Data Forum's 6th appointment period period  were appointed in July 2017.

Representatives of the Empirical Social, Behavioral, and Economic Sciences

Prof. Regina T. Riphahn, Ph.D. - Chair
Professor of Empirical Economics, Institute of Economic Research, University of Erlangen-Nürnberg
Prof. Dr. Cordula Artelt
Professor of Educational Research, University of Bamberg
Director of the Leibniz Institute for Educational Trajectories (LIfBi)
Prof. Dr. Thomas K. Bauer
Professor of Economics, Ruhr University of Bochum
Vice-President of the RWI – Leibniz Institute for Economic Research
Prof. Dr. Michael Eid
Professor of Methods and Evaluation, Department of Education and Psychology, Freie Universität Berlin
Prof. Dr. Anja Göritz
Professor of Occupational and Consumer Psychology, Department of Psychology, University of Freiburg
Prof. Dr. Monika Jungbauer-Gans
Professor for Empirical Research on Higher Education and Science Studies, University of Hannover
Scientific Director of the German Centre for Research on Higher Education and Science Studies (DZHW)
Prof. Dr. Stefan Liebig
Professor of Empirical Social Structure Analysis, Free University Berlin
Member of the Executive Board of the German Institute for Economic Research (DIW Berlin)
Director of the Socio-Economic Panel (SOEP) at DIW Berlin
Prof. Dr. Kai Maaz
Professor of Education Systems and Society, Goethe University Frankfurt a.M.
Director of the department Educational Structure and Governance at the German Institute for International Educational Research (DIPF)

Representatives of Data Production

Prof. Stefan Bender, Deutsche Bundesbank
Head of the Research Data and Service Center of Deutsche Bundesbank
Heike Habla, Federal Statistical Office
Head of National Coordination, Programme Planning
Hans-Josef Fischer, Statistical Offices of the "Länder"
President of IT.NRW (Landesbetriebe Information und Technik Nordrhein-Westfalen)
Dr. Cornelia Lange, Robert Koch Institute
Department of Epidemiology and Health Monitoring and Head of the division Health Behaviour
Sabine Ohsmann, German Pension Insurance
Department Research and Development at the German Pension Insurance
Prof. Dr. Jürgen Schupp, Socio-Economic Panel (SOEP) - Vice-Chair
Professor of Sociology, Free University Berlin
Vice-Director of SOEP at the German Institute for Economic Research (DIW Berlin)
Prof. Dr. Mark Trappmann, Federal Employment Agency
Professor of Sociology, especially Survey Methodology, University of Bamberg
Head of Research Department “Labour Market and Social Security” (PASS), Institute for Employment Research (IAB)
Dr. Heike Wirth, GESIS Leibniz Institute for the Social Sciences
Department Monitoring Society and Social Change
Head of the German Microdata Lab (GML)



Eckart Hohmann
Former President of the State Statistical Office of Hesse

Dr. Eckard Kämper
German Research Foundation (DFG), Programme Director Humanities and Social Sciences 2: Social and Behavioural Sciences

Dr. Maike Koops
Federal Ministry of Education and Research, Desk Officer in the Department Humanities, Social and Cultural Sciences, Academies, Research Museums

Bertram Raum
Expert for Data Protection Law

Prof. Dr. Ulrike Rockmann
Institute for School Quality at the FU Berlin; Vice State Returning Officer for Berlin

Prof. Dr. Jörg Strübing
Professor of Sociology with a Focus on Qualitative Methods at the Eberhard Karls University of Tübingen

Dr. Monika Wächter
German Aerospace Center (DLR) – Project Management Agency, Desk Officer in the Department Humanities and Social Sciences, Division Research Infrastructures and Structure Formation