RatSWD @ RSSfeed


  • English
  • Deutsch

Members of the German Data Forum (RatSWD) in its Seventh Appointment Period (July 2020 - July 2023)

The German Data Forum (RatSWD) was established by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) in accordance with all federal government departments in 2004. It superseded the founding committee of the German Data Forum and continued its activities. The German Data Forum is an independent council of empirical researchers from universities, university-level institutions, and institutions of independent scientific research as well as representatives from important data producers in Germany. It consists of twenty members. The members for the German Data Forum's 7th appointment period period  were appointed in July 2020.

Representatives of the Empirical Social, Behavioral, and Economic Sciences

Prof. Dr. Michael Eid
Professor für Methoden und Evaluation, Fachbereich Erziehungswissenschaft und Psychologie, Freie Universität Berlin
Prof. Dr. Thorsten Faas
Professor of Political Sociology of Germany, Department of Political and Social Sciences, Freie Universität Berlin
Prof. Dr. Christiane Gross
Chair of Quantitative Methods of Empirical Social Research, Institute of Political Science and Sociology, University of Würzburg
Prof. Dr. Oliver Lüdtke
Professor of Educational Measurement, Kiel University
Head of Department Educational Measurement, IPN - Leibniz Institute for Science and Mathematics Education
Prof. Dr. Ingrid Miethe
Professor of Educational Sciences, Institute for Educational Sciences, Giessen University
Prof. Dr. Kerstin Schneider - Vice Chair
Chair of Public Finance and Taxation, Department of Economics, University of Wuppertal
Managing Director of WIB - Wuppertal Research Institute for the Economics of Education
Prof. Dr. Laura Seelkopf
Chair of International Organisations, Department of Political Science, Ludwig-Maximilians-University Munich
Prof. Dr. Anja Strobel
Professor of Personality Psychology and Assessment, Institute of Psychology, Chemnitz University of Technology
Prof. Dr. Jörg Strübing
Professor of Sociology, Focus on Methods of Qualitative Social Research, Institute of Sociology, University of Tübingen
Prof. Dr. Joachim Winter
Chair of Empirical Economic Research, Department of Economics, Ludwig-Maximilians-University Munich

Representatives of Data Production

Prof. Stefan Bender, Deutsche Bundesbank
Head of the Research Data and Service Center of Deutsche Bundesbank
Prof. Dr. Betina Hollstein, Qualiservice
Chair of Qualitative Methods and Microsociology, Faculty of Social Sciences, University of Bremen
Head of Working Group Qualitative Methods and Microsociology at SOCIUM Research Center on Inequality and Social Policy
Prof. Dr. Monika Jungbauer-Gans, German Centre for Research on Higher Education and Science Studies (DZHW) - Chair
Scientific Director of the German Centre for Research on Higher Education and Science Studies (DZHW)
Professor for Empirical Research on Higher Education and Science Studies, University of Hannover

PD Dr. Thomas Lampert, Robert Koch-Institut (RKI)
Leitung der Abteilung für Epidemiologie und Gesundheitsmonitoring
Prof. Dr. Stefan Liebig, Socio-Economic Panel (SOEP)
Director of the Socio-Economic Panel (SOEP) at DIW Berlin
Member of the Executive Board of the German Institute for Economic Research (DIW Berlin)
Professor of Empirical Social Structure Analysis, Free University Berlin

Sabine Ohsmann, German Pension Insurance
Department Research and Development at the German Pension Insurance

Prof. Dr. Mark Trappmann, Federal Employment Agency
Head of Research Department “Labour Market and Social Security” (PASS), Institute for Employment Research (IAB)
Professor of Sociology, especially Survey Methodology, University of Bamberg

Dr. Daniel Vorgrimler, Federal Statistical Office
Head of Department B Strategy and Planning, International Relations, Research and Communication
Dr. Heike Wirth, GESIS Leibniz Institute for the Social Sciences
Department Monitoring Society and Social Change
Head of the German Microdata Lab (GML)
Dr. Sylvia Zühlke, Statistical Offices of the "Länder"
Head of Department Statistics of IT.NRW (Landesbetriebe Information und Technik Nordrhein-Westfalen)



Dr. Jan Goebel - Vice chair of the FDI committee
Research Data Center of the Socio-Economic Panel Study at DIW Berlin (RDC SOEP)

Dr. Eckard Kämper
German Research Foundation (DFG), Programme Director Humanities and Social Sciences 2: Social and Behavioural Sciences

Dr. Maike Koops
Federal Ministry of Education and Research, Desk Officer in the Department Humanities, Social and Cultural Sciences, Academies, Research Museums

Bertram Raum
Expert for Data Protection Law

Prof. Dr. Ulrike Rockmann
Institute for School Quality at the FU Berlin; Vice State Returning Officer for Berlin

Dr. Pascal Siegers - Chair of the FDI committee
Research Data Centre ALLBUS at GESIS (RDC ALLBUS)